· 6 min read

Learn Urdu for Free: What Is Really Free

By Language Lab editorial team

Learn Urdu for free: the BBC's archived Urdu guide with alphabet audio and key phrases, India's NCPUL online lessons and its one-year diploma at Rs. 350.

Learn Urdu for Free: What Is Really Free
Quick answer

Free official Urdu material is thinner than for many languages, so it helps to know exactly what costs nothing. The BBC's archived Guide to Urdu is free: ten facts about the language, the alphabet with audio, and key phrases with audio. India's National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language, a government body, runs an Urdu Online site, headed CIIL & NCPUL, offering script lessons, structure lessons and an anthology; it requires registration, and the site does not state a price. The Council's One Year Diploma Course in the Urdu Language is not free but close to it, at 350 rupees for a direct individual learner, and it teaches the script from the beginning through Hindi or English.

The resources at a glance

ResourceWho makes itCostWhat you get
A Guide to UrduBBC (archived)FreeTen facts, the alphabet with audio, key phrases with audio
Urdu OnlineNational Council for Promotion of Urdu Language (site headed CIIL & NCPUL)Registration required; no price stated on the siteScript lessons, structure lessons and an anthology
Diploma in Urdu LanguageNational Council for Promotion of Urdu LanguageRs. 350 for a direct individual learnerA one-year course from the script to easy literature, with 12 assignments

Start with the script, free from the BBC

The BBC's guide explains the alphabet plainly. Urdu has 39 basic letters and 13 extra characters, 52 altogether. It is written from right to left and is closely related to the Arabic and Persian alphabets. Three things are worth knowing before you begin.

  • Dots matter. The placement of a dot can change one letter into a different letter, and several letters share one basic shape.
  • Short vowels are often missing. Urdu has three short and seven long vowel sounds, and the marks for short vowels are often left off, so you work out the pronunciation from context. Books for learners tend to include them.
  • Some sounds are new. The guide gives a sharp sound at the back of the throat similar to k, and a sound like the ch in the Scottish loch.

First phrases, free from the BBC

UrduMeaning
Assalam-o-AlekumHello
Khuda-hafizGoodbye
ShukriaThank you
Jee haanYes
Jee nahinNo
Aap kaiseh hain?How are you?
Mujhay samaj naheen aaeeI don't understand

These are written in English letters, as the BBC gives them. English also gives you a head start with vocabulary: the guide lists science, glass, court, file, photo, library, car, bus and airport among the English words in everyday Urdu.

The NCPUL's online lessons

The National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language is an autonomous body under the Government of India, set up to promote, develop and propagate the Urdu language; it began work in Delhi on 1 April 1996. Its Urdu Online site, headed CIIL & NCPUL, has three sections: Script Lesson, Structure Lesson and Anthology. The lessons sit behind a login, so you register as a new user first. The site does not say whether there is a charge, and we could not see the lessons without an account.

The low-cost route: a one-year diploma

  • Fee: Rs. 350 for a direct individual learner.
  • Medium: Hindi or English. You need to be able to read and write one of them; there is no age limit.
  • Structure: three parts. The script, in 20 lessons; easy grammar and comprehension, in 27 lessons; and easy literature, with 28 prose lessons and 15 poetry lessons.
  • Assessment: 12 assignments. Direct individual learners are exempted from the final written examination.
  • Dates: the course starts on 1 April each year, and registration closes on 28 February.

A weekly plan on a zero budget

  • Daily, 10 minutes: the alphabet with the BBC's audio, a few letters a day, written right to left.
  • Daily, 5 minutes: key phrases aloud.
  • Twice a week: recall the letters from memory before learning new ones.
  • Once the letters are secure: register for the NCPUL's Urdu Online and start with the script lessons.
  • By February: decide whether to enrol for the diploma that begins on 1 April.

The plan relies on practice testing and distributed practice, the two techniques a 2013 review of learning research rated as high utility. Rereading and highlighting were rated low.

How far free takes you

Free material will teach you the script and first phrases. The rest is a long course: the US State Department places Urdu in Category III, hard languages, at about 44 weeks or 1,012 class hours for English speakers. One shortcut is real: the BBC's guide notes that spoken Urdu and Hindi are almost identical at the day-to-day level, so spoken practice in either helps. Language Lab's Urdu course is built around voiced real-life scenarios with an AI tutor, which supplies the speaking practice that reading cannot.

Frequently asked

Can I learn Urdu for free?

You can start for free. The BBC's archived Guide to Urdu covers the alphabet and key phrases with audio. India's National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language also has an Urdu Online site with script and structure lessons; it requires registration and does not state a price.

How many letters does the Urdu alphabet have?

The BBC's guide gives 39 basic letters and 13 extra characters, 52 altogether, written from right to left.

What is the cheapest official Urdu course?

The National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language's One Year Diploma Course in the Urdu Language costs Rs. 350 for a direct individual learner.

Can I learn Urdu through English?

Yes. The NCPUL diploma teaches the Urdu script through Hindi and English.

If I know Hindi, is Urdu easy?

Speaking is. The BBC's guide says spoken Urdu and Hindi are almost identical at the day-to-day functional level, apart from certain words. The scripts are different, so reading and writing must be learned separately.

Is Urdu hard for English speakers?

The US State Department classes it as a hard language, at about 44 weeks or 1,012 class hours. The BBC's guide calls its grammar and sentence structure very systematic.

Sources: BBC Languages, A Guide to Urdu: 10 facts, Key phrases and The Urdu alphabet (archived pages); National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language, Diploma in Urdu Language, Distance education section and Urdu Online (checked without an account); US Department of State, National Foreign Affairs Training Center, Foreign Language Training; Dunlosky et al., Psychological Science in the Public Interest, 2013. Checked on 13 October 2026. Photo: The Hunza Valley and Hunza River, Obaid Ahmed / CC BY-SA 4.0 (Wikimedia Commons).

Practice it before you live it.

Language Lab teaches the language you actually need when you move — across 50 languages. Coming soon.

Join the beta →

Keep reading

How to Learn German for the Anmeldung (Phrases + What to Expect)How to Learn German for the Anmeldung (Phrases + What to Expect)13 min · Read →
The Best Language App for Moving Abroad in 2026The Best Language App for Moving Abroad in 202613 min · Read →
Relocation Language App vs General Language App: What's the Difference?Relocation Language App vs General Language App: What's the Difference?13 min · Read →